

## ROZIEYANAHAYU BINTI AB. RAHMAN APPOINTED AS DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS OF THE ASEAN-JAPAN CENTRE

The ASEAN-Japan Centre (AJC) is pleased to announce the appointment of Ms. Rozieyanahayu Binti Ab. Rahman as Director of Operations of the AJC in Tokyo as of November 30, 2019. She will be the Director of Operations in charge of the Capacity Building Cluster and the Tourism and Exchange Cluster, overseeing capacity building programmes as well as tourism and exchange programmes.

Ms. Rozieyanahayu is seconded from the Government of Malaysia, with more than 16 years of experience. Prior to the appointment, she was the Senior Principal Assistant Director of Human Resource Management Division at the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI), Malaysia; Director of Pahang Regional Office, MITI, from 2013 to 2015; and Principal Assistant Director of ASEAN Economic Cooperation Division, MITI, from 2010 to 2013. Ms. Rozieyanahayu holds a master degree in media and governance at Keio University in Japan, and speaks Japanese in addition to Malay and English.

Upon assuming the post of Director of Operations, Ms. Rozieyanahayu affirmed that she would contribute to narrowing the development gaps in ASEAN as well as support ASEAN MSMEs through capacity building activities. She also mentioned that she would like to strengthen sub-regional tourism cooperation through the exchange of information, networking and cooperation between ASEAN Member States and Japan.



Ms. Rozieyanahayu Binti Ab. Rahman, newly appointed Director of Operations in Charge of Capacity Building Cluster and Tourism and Exchange Cluster of the AJC

## <<ASEAN-Japan Centre>>

The ASEAN Japan Centre is an intergovernmental organization established by ASEAN Member States and Japan in 1981. It has been promoting exports from ASEAN to Japan while revitalizing investment, tourism as well as people-to-people exchanges between the ASEAN Member States and Japan. URL : <u>https://www.asean.or.jp/en/</u>

\* ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) is a regional cooperative organization that consists of 10 countries in Southeast Asia, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam.